port of harlem magazine
ivan brown realty
Women Songwriters Hall of Fame

Jun 03 – Jun 16, 2021
deniece williams

The Women Songwriters’ Hall of Fame, founded to honor women whose body of work represents the best of the heritage and legacy of modern American music, will pay homage to ten female songwriters on June 25, 2021 at the Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, DC. Grammy award winning artist Jody Watley, known for both her solo and smashes with Shalamar, is hosting the event.

The Inductees include:

Roberta Flack, who was the 1st artist in music history to win back-to-back Grammys for Song of The Year (only U2 and Billie Eilish have since joined her).

Singer/songwriter Valerie Simpson wrote and recorded hits for decades with husband and recording partner Nick Ashford.

Mary Chapin Carpenter, who is the only artist to have won four consecutive Grammy Awards for Best Female Country Vocal Performance, which she received from 1992 to 1995.

Dr. Veryl Howard, founder of Faith Management & Talent Casting, is recognized as one of the most successful managers and promoters in the world of Christian and Gospel music.

Country music icon Naomi Judd hails from the Appalachian foothills of Ashland, KY. Recording with her daughter Wynonna as the Judds they became one of the best-selling duos of all time.

The other honorees are Tawatha Agee, the all-female band Klymaxx, Deniece Williams, Jeri Keever “Bunny” Hull, and actress/songwriter Dawnn Lewis.

The Women Songwriters Hall of Fame came into existence to salute these women and many others whose talents stand solidly beside their male counterparts, but whose acknowledgement is so lacking that Billboard and even fashion magazines have done feature stories on the subject.
Return to this issue's Main Page
sign up
follow us on
facebook  instagram twitter  youtube
Advertisers | Contact Us | Events | Links | Media Kit | Our Company | Payments Pier
Press Room | Print Cover Stories Archives | Electronic Issues and Talk Radio Archives | Writer's Guidelines